Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Wasting my time?

This topic is 5435 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

I've been a voyeur on here now for a while and have learned some pretty invaluable lessons from you clever folk.

I'm a total FM newbie but decided to try and teach myself it in order to replace my companies aging and unsupportable mysql/html database system.

Last week I suffered a non recoverable data corruption (Something to do with the permissions been tampered with?) on the DB which made me return to the previous back up. I created a 'clean' file and started again, copying and pasting layouts etc and imported the tables/scripts etc. This made me very nervous and therefore I started to create a backup every hour.

Ive come in today and the last 6 backups on Friday are all corrupt. The file was working fine when open but something happened just before lunch that broke the saved file. Luckily this time the file could be recovered.

I am very concerned that FM doesn't seem to be very stable. The file only has about 20 scripts and the same number of layouts and this is now the second time the files corrupted. The most worrying thing is that the file corrupts 'silently'. If I introduced the system this means that days/months worth of current jobs/invoices/orders etc could be lost due to the file corrupting silently and thus all the backup been corrupt too.

Could I have some script/layout/data field etc in the DB which is causing the corruption. The log doesnt tell me a right lot.

The FM DB looks very nice to the eye and works as I would have hoped so far but I am so scared of implementation with so much possible corruption.

I think I will re-install Filemaker and try again.

Is there a best practice for creating a New DB after corruption? Is it ok to simply copy & Paste then import the data again or will I be just copying over the problems.

Many thanks

A slightly concerned Lee