Create and upload static HTML from an existing PHP page

FMDuck

This topic is 5231 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I assume this has already been asked but I can't find anything and I've been working in a cave for 2-1/2 years so I'm way behind on using the web viewer.

Googles new speed requirements are creating a big problem for me because of the speed of FMS and the required physical distance between my web servers and the database server (Linux web servers in New Zealand, Canada, South America, etc. with the Windows database server in Calif.)

I have some existing 'full featured' websites that have a few dozen pages that use the FM PHP API but are fairly static. I'd like to leverage what I already have then create static pages via FMS or a robot then send them to the web server.

Can anyone give me some detailed suggestions on how to do this? Such as use abc plugin on the server to get the page, do xyz using the web viewer then abc plugin to send the new page back to the server. I'm just using this example as a guess but would like to know how others would deal with this.

Thanks much.

The web viewer is browser and has nothing to do with creating web pages.

To turn your data into static web pages, export as XML using a custom XSLT stylesheet to transform the output to HTML. You can find a few examples of this in the Examples folder installed with FMP.

I appreciate the idea but was hoping for something along the lines of going to a page, scraping the contents then somehow getting it back as static data. Or maybe putting the entire page in a single field/record.

The key is to find a way to leverage the work I already have. I have about 25 tables to work with (probably about 1000 fields) so I'm hoping that there's something faster than building style sheets.

going to a page, scraping the contents then somehow getting it back as static data.