Newbies IVL Posted March 26, 2010 Newbies Posted March 26, 2010 Can anyone help me make a script that will allow me to duplicate the field without duplicating the content? ie: Name: Date of Birth: "Name: Jen Date of Birth: 10/20/80" "Name: Jen Date of Birth: 10/20/80" this is what it does, i want it to: "Name: () Date of Birth: ()" "Name: () Date of Birth: ()" "Name: () Date of Birth: ()" so that I can add new individuals () in each field. Thanks!! I've been trying for weeks.
bcooney Posted March 26, 2010 Posted March 26, 2010 Each Name and Date of Birth is a separate record in the table. You only have the fields once. What are you building? What are your tables?
Newbies IVL Posted March 30, 2010 Author Newbies Posted March 30, 2010 Thank you for the response. When I copy and paste the fields, it replicates the same information in all subsequent fields. I want the button to generate a new field in the table without duplicating the information in the previous fields. I hope that makes sense. Basically I just want to know how to make a script so that when I press a button it will replicate all the fields I want in the table without duplicating the information in the fields. It may be really simple and I'm just not getting it. Sorry. -)
bruceR Posted March 30, 2010 Posted March 30, 2010 You can't make a button duplicate fields. That is done when you define the table. Maybe you mean you want to create a new, empty record? Your request is very unclear.
Newbies IVL Posted March 30, 2010 Author Newbies Posted March 30, 2010 I tried several ways, but I believe FM doesn't have the function that I'm requesting. It seems that you have to create a new, disparate field in the database in order to form the table. Extremely inconvenient, btw. I think I figured it out...how to do it with FM's rules anyway. No, I did not want to make a request for a new record. But thank you for trying. To clarify: I wanted to press a button and duplicate: Person 1:--A-- Date of Birth:---B--- Comment:--C-- in a table format, each time clicked the button to enter a new person (in one record, not a new separate record) Therefore if I clicked button the table would appear, as I would have liked: Person1:---A-- Date of Birth:---B-- Comment:--C--- Person2:---D-- Date of Birth:---E-- Comment:--F--- However, instead it appeared as: Person1:---A-- Date of Birth:---B-- Comment:--C--- Person1:---A-- Date of Birth:---B-- Comment:--C--- Person1:---A-- Date of Birth:---B-- Comment:--C--- Person1:---A-- Date of Birth:---B-- Comment:--C--- Every time I clicked the button. Therefore, duplicating the same fields over and over with the same info. So turns out that you have to create a separate field manually for each of the rows and columns in the database, ie: Person 1: Date of Birth 1: Comment 1: Person 2: Date of Birth 2: Comment 2: Person 3: Date of Birth 3: Comment 3: Person 4: Date of Birth 4: Comment 4: And then this would allow you to enter different information in those separate fields, ie: Person 1: Tim Date of Birth 1: 10/08 Comment 1: Person 2: John Date of Birth 2: 2/10 Comment 2: Person 3: Joe Date of Birth 3: 12/09 Comment 3: Person 4: Mary Date of Birth 4: 1/10 Comment 4: Hope that makes sense. It just would be easier with a button click to duplicate fields then to program the layout for each field in a table.
efen Posted March 30, 2010 Posted March 30, 2010 This description suggests to me that your file's structure is wrong. These seem to be related records which should be in a separate table?
bcooney Posted March 30, 2010 Posted March 30, 2010 (edited) No, you do not create fields for each person! You create records for each person. We're guessing at what you're doing. Describe your goal. Use real examples. Edited March 31, 2010 by Guest
bruceR Posted March 31, 2010 Posted March 31, 2010 I tried several ways, but I believe FM doesn't have the function that I'm requesting. It seems that you have to create a new, disparate field in the database in order to form the table. Extremely inconvenient, btw. I think I figured it out...how to do it with FM's rules anyway. No, I did not want to make a request for a new record. But thank you for trying. Hope that makes sense. It just would be easier with a button click to duplicate fields then to program the layout for each field in a table. I tried several ways, but I believe FM doesn't have the function that I'm requesting. It seems that you have to create a new, disparate field in the database in order to form the table. Extremely inconvenient, btw. I think I figured it out...how to do it with FM's rules anyway. No; it does not make sense. These are not so much FM's rules but really quite basic database concepts. You seem to be very much headed down the wrong path. I suggest you post your file here; or a clone or a simplfied version of your file. And also answer the questions posed by others. You're going in a really confusing direction.
bruceR Posted March 31, 2010 Posted March 31, 2010 So turns out that you have to create a separate field manually for each of the rows and columns in the database, ie: Person 1: Date of Birth 1: Comment 1: Person 2: Date of Birth 2: Comment 2: Person 3: Date of Birth 3: Comment 3: Person 4: Date of Birth 4: Comment 4: No. Massively incorrect.
Vaughan Posted March 31, 2010 Posted March 31, 2010 When I copy and paste the fields, it replicates the same information in all subsequent fields. You are copying and pasting field objects on the layout. Since the field object points to the same field it will display the same data. Having said that, I agree that your data design is heading down the wrong path.
Recommended Posts
This topic is 5352 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now