Server Maintenance This Week. ×

General Information On XML vs CDML

tpoint

This topic is 7804 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am a rigorous FMP developer but have avoided web publishing (except instant wp).

I now need to investment the time to learn custom publishing.

Here are three questions that maybe someone can give an opinion on:

1 Can the newly touted XML/XSL combo replace the CDML tag route completely?

2 Is CDML going to survive and thrive (is it adequately supported by 3rd party companies?)

3 Honestly, if you were starting out to learn web development as a career, which would you choose...XML or CDML and if, "you need both", why?

Multiple postings and long dialogs appreciated. Thanks.

------------------

• 2 weeks later...

I found myself in a situation where I needed to develop FMP db's for the web. (Mac/FMPro 4.0v3) When I started, without knowing anything about development for the web, I developed a solution using scripts as if it were going to be put on the web. When I completed that I needed to find out about development for the web so I learned to write html (not how to use an editor program). Then I read about a thousand pages of cdml and FMP materials, stuff which comes with the program and available texts. Next I started to write some custom-publishing format files and was having immediate success, until I hit a wall because of one line of code that was not in anything that I had read or any of the examples which I had tried to that point. The lack of good referencing and good presentation of cdml has been a huge obstacle for me to overcome, and I can speak only for myself. But I have continued on, and it becomes clearer and a bit easier each day. So in a way, I fit question three, and I have chosen to wrestle with the cdml. I am making progress. It happens in spurts.