Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Returning a filename and filepath from container file

This topic is 5015 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi There,

Does anyone know if it is possible to return an automated filename and filepath for the file selected in a container? It currently has to be entered manually - which can be laborious?

It would also be helpful to be able to select the creation and modification date (guess this is asking the impossible) but it would make life really easy if I know how.

Your help is very much appreciated as I am fairly new to FM and programming.

If the file inserted as a reference or stored?

Have you looked at GetAsText( containerfield )?

Regarding the create and mod dates, are these of the inserted image? A third-party plugin may be required to get the metadata from the image file.

• Newbies

Hi Vaughan,

The file has been inserted as I plan to track documents within the database. They are not pictures but doc, xls and pdf files, for which much information normally exists.

I haven't quite figured out how to get to the stage of inserting "GetAsText( containerfield )" - whether it is in specify field or conditional formatting.

Thanks for the prompt response.

There was a discussion on the FileMaker (Inc.) forum, about something like this. Actually, they were asking how to set the "default folder" for an Insert dialog. I suggested using AppleScript to choose the file, as it has this option for its "choose file" dialog.

Of course, this is Mac only. But it is on every Mac.

--------------------------------------

set defaultFolder to path to pictures folder

set theFile to (choose file default location defaultFolder without invisibles)

--------------------------------------