Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Function Referencing Previous Value

This topic is 4996 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm new to Filemaker Pro and am moving my Training Diary over from a spreadsheet. A calculation I want to repeat is calculated as follows:

I have a table with a field called load. This table has an entry for every day.

I have a field called Chronic Training Load which is calculated by taking the previous value of Chronic Training Load and applying a factor to it and then adding in that days training load.

What I can't work out is in the calculation how to refer to the previous days value.

Any help appreciated.

Edited by Guest

You could base the date on an auto-entered serial number field. For example, if your first day is Jan 1, 2010, the date can be a calculation field =

SerialID + 733772

or just start the serial numbers from 733773. You need to be careful not to delete records, though.

To get the previous day's value you need a self-join relationship such as:

Days::cPrevID = Days 2::SerialID

where cPrevID would be a calculation =

SerialID - 1

However, this raises a problem of cascading calculation - it will slow down as the number of records increases. How do you arrive at a day's training load? Is it a sum of the various exercises performed during the day (hopefully in a child table)?

Thanks - I will give this a try. Not done a self join relationship so that'll be fun !

The daily load is based on a child table. Since once a day is gone the calculations won't change I had wondered about storing the calculated field - I'm making the assumption this will mean it won't recalculate it each time.

To get the previous day's value you need a self-join relationship...

Why ?

Isn't it : GetAsDate ( SerialID - 1 ) ?

Edit: never mind, you said: previous day's value ( not previous day )

Edited by Guest

It seems I can do that join using a field "Yesterday" which is a simple calculation of Date - 1