Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Login/Restricting Info Access

This topic is 4933 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello. I am very new to FM and working on my first database with it. Basically, I have a database that several users will be accessing. I have found where to create users and set permission levels, ie, full, data entry, etc.

The database will be used by different people to enter services and hours that clients recieve for a given month. It is ok to have the full client list available to them when they go to enter information, but how to I get it to only show reports relevent to them? Or is that even possible? Basically, I'm going to create a report (when I figure out how to do that) which will summarise what that client received for the month. But because they can avail of services from more than one provider, when a user opens the report to see the full month, I only want them to be able to see the services provided by them.

Did I make that totally confusing? Sorry I hope not. Also, if someone can give me an idea/direct me to a simple lamens term explanation of how to create reports with specific criteria entered at the time of running the report I'd appreciate it so much. I.e. I want a report that summarizes what a client received in the month of August so when I open that specific report it prompts me for the client name and the month I'm looking for.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Hello Annette Marie,

One way to achieve your goal is to create a field in each table, especially the Services table, that contains the account created. This is easily achieved with a text field that has the entry options of Account Created. Now each record is "stamped," so to speak, with its creator.