Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Exporting XML for Google Merchant Center

Steven1337

This topic is 4943 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

My truck accessory company uses Google's Merchant Center to put our items in their google product search. One way to upload your items is using XML (which is what I use).

To put all the items from my filemaker database into an XML format I use a PHP page which disguises itself as an xml page. And just basically echos the xml in the google format. I have over 20k items and my method is time consuming. One because the php times out since I have so many tiems so I have to break down the database into bits.

I've been looking into exporting the database and all the fields that I need in XML straight from the database. But how would I place the fields within the mark up tags that I specify? Does an XSL stylesheet do this for you? I'm new to XSL I just need a step in the right direction.

But how would I place the fields within the mark up tags that I specify? Does an XSL stylesheet do this for you?

Yes. When you export as XML without a stylesheet, you get markup in one of Filemaker's grammars (either FMPXMLRESULT or FMPDSORESULT). To transform this into a schema that can be used by the target application, you need to use a XSLT stylesheet during the export.

I suggest you start here for a basic introduction:

http://my.advisor.com/doc/12009

There are tons of examples in these forums (check the Import/Export and the XML/XSL sections). And there are many XSL resources (not Filemaker specific) on the web, e.g.:)

http://www.w3schools.com/xsl/

If you post some details (like what fields you have and how the final document needs to look), we can help you get started.

This is the php code i use to create the pages. It should give you an idea of the format and fields.

<?php require_once('../Connections/Rackspace.php'); ?>

<?php 

header('content-type: text/xml');

echo '<?xml version="1.0"?>' . "n";