Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Validating User Entry

This topic is 4879 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello, I am new in writing Script within FileMaker Pro. Over the last two years I have been writing applescripts modules to performs specific functions. I want to have a more structure and robust environment. I am then moving into FileMaker Pro.

I am attaching down below an applescript program I want to recode in FileMaker Pro. However, I do not know about the FileMaker Pro scripting syntax I should be using.

The idea, is that the operator is writing code order information into a specific line (Line1, Line2, Line3 and Line4). Each code is 4 characters long and is separated by a blank. For each of the code I want a record to be added in a FileMaker Pro table called ClientOrder. For example, if the operator enter the following :

Invoice #001

Line1: 0121 1204 3305 3601

The table "ClienOrder" will then have the following record (Invoice#, Code#):

001 0121

001 1204

001 3305

001 3601

Does anyone know of any reference material I could refer to in order to perform the required task?

Best regards!

Daniel

I've created in FileMaker Pro a layout model where the user sees three entry lines. I would like each line to be validated after the user entered for a line the code information and click on the tab or enter key.

Most of the time I will only be using Line1.

Line2,3 and 4 is there for exceptional situations. As you can see in the attached code the operator could be entering up to 10 code.

Entering code separated by spaces is what the operating staff is used to do. Clicking the return button would be equal to a "commit" statement. Validation of the entry would then be required and the "ClientOrder" would then be filled.

In the meantime, Comment your question made realized a number could be entered and already exist in the "ClientOrder" table. This would be allowed and a warning message should be displayed.