Event DB I am working on.

ccaste

This topic is 4781 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

OK. So I am very new to FM. I have been using Excel for many years doing DB-like things. But I figured it was time to move on and start using an actual DB for my projects. I am confused and I have been looking for something that makes sense online to answer my question. But I am still stuck. Here is my problem and I hope someone can help me with a solution.

I am building a DB that will track events that my church holds every three months. We call them Encounters - kinda like a retreat. Anyway, we have participants that attend and volunteers that, well, volunteer. A person can be a participant only one time but once they participate, many want to volunteer to serve in these Ecounters. And a person can volunteer many times. In addition, many of the volunteers are assigned participants. So each volunteer can be assigned multiple participants. And finally, both participants and volunteers must pay to attend these events. I would like to keep track of these payments. So a payment can be received for a volunteer or participant. For volunteers, I must be able to assign a payment to a specific volunteer and specific event.

So I am trying to set up my relationships. I have setup each Event with an eventID that is auto generated and unique. The event information is located in a table I have titled tblEncounters. It contains all the event details - location, dates and so on. I know that I should have a one to many relationship to the participants. But I want to also have a ??? many to many relationship to the volunteers. I am blurry on how to set that up. I know it has to do with a seperate table that joins these to, but... The other thing is that the volunteers and the participants need to have a relationship as well - one volunteer to many participants in a specific event.

I hope this makes sense to someone who can throw me me bone.