Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Seat Assignments Reservation System

aircal

This topic is 4762 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Let me start off by saying I am VERY new to Filemaker and forums. I am using Filemaker Pro 11. I know this sounds nuts but I have never posted in one before, so I hope I am going about this correctly.

I work as a ticket agent for an airline so I know about how some of this stuff works (not in FM obviously) but am trying to make my own system.

Here is the Situation:

I have 2 tables that are part of this issue:

Bookings (Passenger Name, Flight booked, Seat Assignment, etc..)

Seat Maps (different types of aircraft have different seat maps)

I have gotten as far as making passenger reservations, and being able to check them in for their flight (and the connections if there is one), then printing the boarding passes, bag tags etc.)

Each seat on the seat map table is a field named what ever seat it is. (Seat 13C is field 13C) And on the seat map available seats show as "O". When I check in a passenger it will show the seat map in one window and a field in the other to input the seat I want in the other window (in the passengers booking). What I am trying to do is type in the seat assignment and then have filemaker go to the seat map on the and change that seat to show it as an "X" (meaning not available for another passenger)

The Bookings table it related to the flights table by the flight and date as is the seat map for that flight.

My thought was that there would be a way once I type in the seat assignment in the passengers booking that it would then take what I type and go to the seat map and change it from O to X.

I have done some scripting for the other portions of this system, but don't know a whole lot about them.