Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Equipment Inspection Schema

higleyjp

This topic is 4782 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello there!

First off, I have experience using MS Access, MySQL, and PHP front ends for database design and presentation, but I'm a newbie to FileMaker and am having some trouble picking up on it. I'm contracting for a manufacturing company and setting up an FM database to be used primarily with FM Go on an iPad for on-site equipment inspections. I'll apologize right off the bat for being long-winded, but this project requires quite a bit of exposition.

The company I'm working for has multiple locations, each location has multiple departments, each department has multiple areas, each area has multiple pieces of equipment, and each piece of equipment has multiple functions which need to be inspected. For the purposes of this DB, each location/department/area/equipment/function is unique (there's no need to reference one particular piece of equipment in multiple areas).

I'm afraid I might be overcomplicating things with my schema. I currently have a single thread of related tables for Location, Department, Area, Equipment, and Functions, with the last table storing the many-to-many relationship between equipment and function. I'm wondering if maybe it would be easier to throw some of that normalization out the window and consolidate the information into fewer tables since I'm having trouble getting related records to populate properly. I've tried to use serial numbers for match fields and auto-lookup the value in the lower level table to display the appropriate verbage, but no related records are being found.