Server Maintenance This Week. ×

External File open and populate

This topic is 4762 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

So I'm new to FileMake also although my background is IT and apps development

I have a need and I am looking at FM. If I can create a simple db/app for this, I'll purchase, dive into FM and start using for many other requirements.

I have a medical practice. When I get a remote client or patient, I need to send them a consent form and give them a unique client number.

I have created a Db that collects name, date, birthdate and creates and assigns an auto generated one time number for this contact.

What I would like to do now is

1) Open a template either Word or PDF

2) populate that template with Name, Birthdate and unique generated number (above)

3) Create an Email ..... Hi how are you..... please sign and return the attached....

4) attach the file just created from the template (so I guess I'll need to save the template in and different name)

5) Send the email with template

6) Store/Save the Name, BD, client number.....

So.... can this be done and if so..... any hints on the work with the template/population/email parts

Thanks

Rick

• Newbies

It would be very easy to generate the PDF directly from Filemaker and attach it to a e-mail. Not sure what step 6) means.

#6 is just store the data that was just entered....... sorta redundant.

Can the PDF fields be populated with the data just entered into FM (name, date, number....)

What kind of PDF you have in mind? Filemaker can generate a PDF file same way as it can print: you create a layout that displays your data (and any other element you need, e.g. logo, static text, etc.) and that what's you'll see in the PDF. There are no "fields" in this document. If you mean a PDF form where users can fill out their own data, that's another thing - and not all easy to accomplish.

• Newbies