Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Counting unique values from drop down lists

This topic is 4754 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi everyone, I'm somewhat new to FMP and was hoping I could get some help with my problem. So:

I have a field called "Products". Users can choose a product from a drop down value list. The value list of the Products are:

Pamphlets

Kiosk

Poster

Document

Banner

So, in my report, I'd like to be able to have something to show the amount of each product that was chosen. For example, if I had 27 records, it would look something like this;

Pamphlets: 5

Kiosk: 10

Poster: 2

Document: 4

Banner: 6

I'm not sure the best way to go about doing this...

Any help would be really appreciated!

Chris

Read up on summary reports. In this case you'd create a summary field to calculate the total of "amount" and use the product name as the break field.

IF you don't have an amount field and each record represents 1 item, the make the summary field "count" the product name field instead.

Also, I'm not sure if my first post was clear... What I'm trying to do is count the amount of times each product was picked. For example;

Record 01 - Product: Banner

Record 02 - Product: Kiosk

Record 03 - Product: Banner

Record 04 - Product: Banner

Record 05 - Product: Banner

Record 06 - Product: Kiosk

Record 07 - Product: Banner

Record 08 - Product: Poster

Record 09 - Product: Poster

Record 10 - Product: Document

Would return a summary of:

Banner: 5

Kiosk: 2

Poster: 2

Document: 1

Thanks for the help guys!

I've been searching Google for hours and I'm not finding anything (that I recognize, anyway)

Try a search for "filemaker summary report". Note that the solution will require some effort on your part.

Okay, moving on...so for this same database, I have multiple drop downs where a user can pick up to 6 different products. For example:

Record 01:

Product 01: Banner

Product 02: Kiosk

Product 03: Poster