Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Question about looping through data from MySQL

This topic is 4744 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Although I have a lot of overall DB experience, I'm fairly new to FM. Here's my situation: I've connected to a MySQL db and have written a FM script to get some records from the uc_orders table on that db, loop through them, and act on each record. So here's what I have going on so far (please tell me if there is a better way of doing this):

Go to Layout ["uc_orders" (uc_orders)]

Perform Find [Restore] #this finds records where uc_orders::order_status ==payment_received

Go to Record/Request/Page [First]

Loop

#...I do some stuff here (not relevant to the problem at hand)

Go to Record/Request/Page [Next; Exit after last]

End Loop

I have confirmed that there are about 70 records in the MySQL table that match the payment_received criterion. The problem is that no matter what, my code only seems to make one loop through and act on the first record it finds, then stops. After I get the data, I do a dialog box that shows me count( uc_orders::order_id ), and this always returns 1.

Any ideas why I'm only getting one result? Feel free to make any suggestions for better ways to do what I've described too, since I'm fairly new at this FM stuff.

- Nathan

Your loop structure is correct, so the problem is probably in the find. From the script, you are trying to find in the order_status field for records that contain the string "payment_received." That doesn't seem correct. Perhaps you should be finding records where the field "payment_received" equals 1?

I have confirmed that there are about 70 records in the MySQL table that match the payment_received criterion. The problem is that no matter what, my code only seems to make one loop through and act on the first record it finds, then stops.