Server Maintenance This Week. ×

FMStudio Trial?

This topic is 4542 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi.

I am trying to decide if FMStudio is right for me.

I have a few filemaker solutions that are very interactive, including charts. To date I have mostly published these using FM network or IWP. I am looking to make my databases more universally accessible so FM network won't cut it any longer. IWP is fine, but it's limitations are becoming an issue and I'm not going to be able to have end users deal with the clunky static webpage output of IWP. I am looking to take the next step to a more functional web design.

Fortunately, I have access to FM server advanced and Dreamweaver CS5. My knowledge of HTML, XML is basic and I have no PHP experience. I am not a developer and this is not a full time job, but I like doing it and I have taught myself as needed. If you want an idea of the type of stuff I am doing look at my IWP demo at ABXRX.com. This is one of the databases that I would like to upgrade.

Is FMstudio right for me? I don't see a trial anywhere. The relative investment is inexpensive, but even so I don't feel like throwing away $150. Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

FM Studio does basic stuff pretty well, from what I have seen and heard being part of their forum for several years.

It doesn't do anything very advanced, or complicated - it's a tool to do basic stuff without you needing to know PHP. Once you get beyond that, it can't really help that much.

And based on the activity in their forum over the last little while, it also appears to not be in active development - very few posts from the developers these days, when they used to be all over the forum like a rash.

HTH

Thanks.

Well any other suggestions to get my filemaker stuff published beyond what IWP can do and without bringing in developers and/or learning php and web design from scratch? I think I'll have no choice but to give FMstudio a go.

• 3 months later...