Is It A Good Idea To Use Table View Instead of List View?

jmci

This topic is 4443 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

A client has asked me to design a custom CRM system for his company to replace a legacy system. This client has some familiarity with FileMaker Pro. In initial discussions he is hot on the idea of using table view instead of list view layouts. I've been a contract developer using FileMaker for many years and have never employed table view in a project I've delivered to another company. I know that table view has evolved somewhat recently and I'm interested in hearing the community's opinion of the advisability of using table view instead of list view and the reasons pro and con. If it's as bad an idea as I believe it to be I want to be able to present a compelling argument, if not, I need to be convinced by professionals.

i don't prefer to use the table view as a end user forward feature - unless you have implemented much tighter security model where they can't modify schema, or add fields to the layout..

Out of the box the user can ADD Fields to the table using table view - and also add records to the table view - in some cases you would prefer them to have a script add records depending on the structure of your solution.

List view you can control what goes on it and provide better interface with live sub summaries.

The list view has only a 3 pixel shift between form view and list view where as the table view has a 20+ pixel margin on the left for the ability to add records.

Also to know that if you have any <<MERGED>> field on a layout and you switch to table view that value becomes editable.

In table view you cannot add buttons to the body section to take you to related records, as you can in list view -