Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Multiple Records in One Table Relating to One Record in Another

E_Hardy

This topic is 4269 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I am an archaeology student and am attempting to make a database to store and share my graduate supervisors and colleagues ancient DNA data. Aside from one course in Visual Basic in my undergrad I know next to nothing about computer programming. The problem I am having with the database is when one record in one table relates to multiple records in another or vice versa.

Forgive my inability to explain my problem using the correct language, I will do my best to give an example of the issue that I am having.

The database consists of multiple tables, one for samples, one DNA extractions, etc etc. Each sample relates to a piece of archaeological material that will undergo a DNA extraction. Each DNA extraction involves multiple samples and samples will be used in multiple DNA extractions and I need the extraction IDs to automatically show up in a field in the sample table. I have managed to do this when one extraction contains only one sample, but as soon as multiple samples are involved it no longer works.

Please let me know if you need me to clarify anything, as I said before, I know very little about computers.

Thanks!

• Newbies

Forgive my computer illiteracy but I am not quite sure how to do that.