Windows Server - Remote Desktop

This topic is 4010 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi All

I'm about to incorporate a database written for a company I work for. Currently, our system is run off of a Windows Server, on which our Oracle database is placed, along with the front end software (R2) we use to manage it via remote desktop sessions. Each user has their own Windows server log in, and their own log in to access the R2/Oracle system simultaneously.

As I have no experience with integrating FileMaker solutions on a server I'm wondering what is the best way to incorporate this on to our server so that multiple users can use it at the same time. If the company purchases FMP12 Advanced and installs it on the server, will our users be able to access it like that of our Oracle/R2 system (i.e. multiple users)? If so, I'm assuming there will be a limited number of users that can access at one time. What about FMP12 Server? Does the server also need the regular FMP software to function? Can you edit the database through FMP Server?

The FMP db is only for certain users, and will only have about 5 people needing access to it at any one time, unlike our R2 system. As I am the one who will be modifying and maintaining this custom solution for my employer, I want the purchase of the FM software to be cost effective for the business (meaning that they would not be spending too much money on implementing it on to an already existing server.)

Any help appreciated! Cheers

You will need Pro. FMS just serves the data (also some other functions like running scripts on the server). If your Oracle db is heavily used, I would suggest using another box.

As for using rdp, you will need a volume or site license. I would check this PDF out for more info.

http://www.filemaker.com/support/product/docs/12/fmp/fmp12_remote_desktop.pdf

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks! I have read the PDF regarding remote desktop, however I still have some unanswered questions.