Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Updating a text field each time a date field entered or changed

This topic is 3902 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm new to FM and to this forum. I hope this was the right place to put this question. I figured it would probably involve functions.

So here's my situation. I have a customer database that is continuously growing. Once a month I send a mailing to certain customers (but not all customers). I've created a check box for "Send maling" that I tick for customers who I want to send to. So at the end of the month, I do a search for all customers with a "Send mailing" check box ticked. I would like to find a way to keep track of the following:

The customer that was sent the mailing

The date at which the customer was sent the mailing

The history of dates that a given customer was sent a mailing (a sort of "Mailing history" field)

So let's say in August I send a mailing to John, Chris and Sally. I would like record that those three received a mailing in August. Well, simplistically I could just make a date field "Maling sent" and choose 8/31/13.

However, in September, the mailing list grows, this time sending again to the original three + two additional customers (Rob and Steve). So now if I change the date field to 9/30/13, the field will show that all 5 customers received a mailing in September, but I will lose trace of who received a mailing in August.

What I need is a way to be able to do a look up of customers who will be sent the mailing, enter the date of the mailing and have that date be added to a field that records all previous dates that each particular client received a previous mailing. I need the current mailing date to be applied to the whole group of customers in the current lookup.

So using my example names above, at the end of September the records for John, Chris and Sally would have "Mailing History" fields that note:

Mailing History:

8/31/13

9/30/13