Would appreciate input from you guys.

This topic is 3648 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

As you can see, my first post here. I'd very much appreciate a bit of input to a couple of questions I have regading FM Pro platform as I take the plunge to purchase FM13 Pro Advanced. I'm not a total newbie to Filemaker having used it some years ago, but I've a lot of catching up to do.

1) In developing a runtime solution can I serve that solution from FM Pro server? Having read docs I'm still not clear in my mind if the database files that are packaged in a runtime can only be local to the solution. What I'd like to do is effectivly create a shell solution which can open the database from a remote server. Then any changes I make to the database will propogate to all users.

2) I'm looking at a couple of hosting providers - quite drawn to http://www.filemakerhostingpros.com as they have a UK based server. Anyone have postivie/negative experience with this company. Noticed they advertise unlimited connections and webdirect which will be critical to some of the solutions I have planned.

Thank you in advance for your time. I'm looking forward to getting back in to Filemaker development, I did download the trail but then had heavy work commitments so only managed to get a few days hands on  - doh! Also can't wait for the day we can make runtime solutions for iOS with Filemaker Go Advanced :laugh:

Kind Regards,

David.

Hello,

As you can see, my first post here. I'd very much appreciate a bit of input to a couple of questions I have regading FM Pro platform as I take the plunge to purchase FM13 Pro Advanced. I'm not a total newbie to Filemaker having used it some years ago, but I've a lot of catching up to do.