showing one (single) address under contacts

This topic is 3596 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello - First thanks for taking the time to offer your input.  I appreciate it.

I am a novice to filmmaker but have spent a great deal of time researching it and studying it.  I have built a couple "trial" databases.

I am now working on a database to hold all of my real estate business information.  For the problem situation at hand I have three tables I am looking at: Contacts, property Address, and a jointable for them.  

I would like the home address or mailing address to be supplied on my contact cards.  But many contacts will be linked to many different properties.  So I am assuming I will want a field dictating which property is a "home address" in the property address table.  Then I am sure I can dictate to only show the address on the contact card that has that field populated with that value (dictating home address).  

I think i am on the right path there.  My question really lies within the reverse.  If I am on a contact card and I want to populate a home address and have it populate in the address table and be marked with home address in that field, will file maker do this on its own, when i populate the field on contact card?  

I am not sure I understand your question that well, but I do understand this:

So I am assuming I will want a field dictating which property is a "home address" in the property address table.

No, that is not the correct approach. If a contact can have only one property selected as the "home address" property, then this selection is an attribute of a contact and should be recorded in a field of the Contacts table, say Contacts::HomePropertyID.

Once you have that, you can show the selected property's address on the contact's layout either by defining an auxiliary relationship :

Contacts::HomePropertyID = Properties 2::PropertyID