Web Direct Server machine

This topic is 3226 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi,  i am very new to web direct  and i don't know much about hardware stuff - specially web server, etc...

my questions is what do i need to host a fmp file through web direct ? - hardware wise.

i have an fixed ip address & domain name.

also i know what kind of server machine i need.

do i need any other computer ?  or only one server machine will do the job ?

thanks,

mike

Your profile shows you are on FM 11 advanced and Windows XP. These are not compatible with Web Direct. However if your profile is out of sync then FM13/14 webdirect requirements are here.

http://www.filemaker.com/products/filemaker-server/server-13-specifications.html

http://help.filemaker.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/14401/~/system-requirements-for-filemaker-server-14

Your deployment choices should be driven by the amount of concurrent connections you anticipate.

I would plan for a two server (FMS on one and WEB Publishing Engine on another) deployment if you anticipate having anymore than 6 concurrent connections.

Edited by Kris M

Thanks, Kris.

i also use window7.

i would say i would have either under 50 users or 100 users.

do you recommand buy cpu 8 core & ram 8 gb ?

Should i buy a web publishing machine same spec as fms server ?

also if i buy a server machine , does it come with window server os ? - eg, window 2012, etc...

and what i should do with web publishing server ?   just networking it to fms server ?

do you know any manual to learn how to connect from fms server to web server , etc... ?

thanks,

mike

FileMaker 14 installation guide is your best place to start.

CH 3 speaks about dual machine deployments.

You need to understand the differences between total user population and concurrent connections. Also look into exactly what concurrent connections mean for WebDirect solutions.

FMS and WD machines do not need to be identically configured.