Best Practice to speed up/optimize layouts

Matthew R White

This topic is 3010 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've been building my database for about 4 years now and its tricked out with portals and conditional formatting. The problem is its running extremely slow on all computers, when you click from one layout to another, theres about a 10 second waiting time before the layout switches.

I'm trying to go through each layout and do what I can to optimize or speed up the database. One thought I had is converting any (conditional formatting/Hide Object If) I had into a calculated field. Is this a generally good practice to have?

One example, I have a table within my main layout called Phone Log, you can add records, drag in files into container fields/etc. On the left I have 3 fields for each log, 1 field is the User entering the data, the second field is actually 3 different objects, a date entered field, a Yesterday Text and a Today Text. These are hide if (get current date <2) etc. (Not sure if these are slowing down the database. And the 3rd field is time entered.

I also have a plus button to add new records, currently all of my records are associated by the key field of Customer Number. When I click the add phone log button, filemaker copies the customer number within the current layout, goes to the Phone Log Table, Creates a new record, pastes the customer number then returns to the original layout. Works great but it takes about 5-6 seconds just to create a new layout. Is there a faster or better way to do this?

phone log.tiff

Hi Matthew,

Layout Optimizer focuses on non-style objects which is quite handy.  It is important to make sure all (or most) objects on your layouts use Styles and best to use only a single Theme so it is good to check.  I suspect that the majority of your slow-down results from basic design errors.

2 hours ago, Matthew R White said: