Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Calculating Serial Numbers with text

This topic is 2957 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

So I'm a very much newbie, and perhaps staring to walk before I run - but I'm getting on OK with getting my head around things. Quite possibly the most complicated thing I'm adding to my database is a Serial Calc. 

The way it would ideally work is that each Client has a 3-figure Prefix unique to them. So ABC, XYZ and so forth. I have this as a Field. My next Field is a 'start from', which has Auto Data entered as 001, although it can be changed for the needs of that Client.  

Ideally, I am looking for a formula and/or calculation which does the following: 

1) Compares the ID of the Client against the 'start from' number 

2) Once compared, a calculated number to start the Invoice from

3) Continues to generate a +1 for every new invoice associated with that Client. So ABC001, ABC002.

I guess the Prefix isn't important, as the Prefix can be added to the Serial quite easily.

What I'm struggling to find is a way to get the comparison between the ID and the Serial Number to calculate what the new Invoice Serial Number would be. 

I looked at Summary Fields and then adding a 1 on to the existing number, but this only works when the invoices go up from 134 to 135 to 136 etc. Where as I am almost looking to compared ID+Serial then take away the ID and plus 1.  

I'm hoping that makes sense, any pointers and/or things to read up on?

Cheers

N

Maintaining a separate series of serial numbers for each client is not easy to implement reliably. By "reliably" I mean without creating duplicates in a multi-user scenario. If you can accept gaps in the series, then work with a simple auto-entered serial number. Adding a client-specific prefix would be trivial using the Seriallncrement() function (in another field).

Edited by comment

Thanks Comment.