Creating a new field from a street address

This topic is 4407 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all.

Can someone help with this issue.

I have a field called "home address" it includes the house number as well as the street name. It looks like this:

"123 King Athur St"

I need to have the number in its own seperate field. I have created a field "Street No" which should then contain the number "123" from the above example, and the field "home address" should then only contain "King Athur St"

Thanks in advance.

Perhaps you could use =

LeftWords ( home address ; 1 )

for the number, and =

RightWords ( home address ; WordCount ( home address ) -1 )

for the rest. I am saying "perhaps" because while it fits your example, it may not fit other cases, e.g. "123/B King Athur St".

Thanks so much for the info. Where do I insert these calculation scripts? I am still quite new at all this. Do i put the calculation - LeftWords ( home address ; 1 ) in the "Street No" field and the calculation - RightWords ( home address ; WordCount ( home address ) -1 ) in the "home address" field?

Do I need to do the one calculation before the other? Will this effectivley permanently seperate the number from the street name?

Thanks

I'd suggest you define two new calculations fields, using the above formulae. Close the Manage Database window, then go back and change both fields to type Text. Check your results and if everything is OK, you can delete the original home address field.

• Like 1

This is a double post. Did you examine the file that I attached here http://fmforums.com/...545#entry380545

Please do not double post your questions.

BTW, I actually attached to different files to that post the 1st one was for phone numbers and the 2nd one was for addresses.

Lee