Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Very new to FM, need help

TLIEB

This topic is 3666 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I'm working with Filemaker Advanced Pro 11.0v3. I work for a very small company and the person who set up Filemaker is no longer with the company. I have no experience with Filemaker at all, but I have some programming background so I've been asked to look into an issue with Filemaker to try to see if what we want to do is even possible.

The scenario is this - we have one particular layout where several different people would be modifying a single record over the course of a few days. It's basically a shift log where they report what they've done on that shift or on a particular job. I've been asked to try to figure out if we can make it so that once a particular field has data in it, that field is no longer editable, i.e. the first shift crew enters their progress and the second shift crew cannot change what first shift has entered. But - the supervisor would still want to be able to go in and make changes in case anything is entered in error.

I've done a lot of reading over the last few days on these forums as well as the Filemaker forums and the Filemaker documentation. I get the sense that it's something that can be done, I just haven't been able to quite figure out exactly how to make it work. 

As far as I can tell, currently everyone here is set up with full access. I'm assuming I'll have to make a separate privilege set for these users. Can anyone point me in the right direction on what the best course of action would be? 

Thanks in advance for any advice or pointers!

Security is the way to go with this..

Define a new privelege set and look into edit privelege set>>Records>>custom priveleges. Selected the table you want to restrict and set Edit to limited and voila! the calculation engine is exposed so you can restrict the edit of a record in the selected table based on the boolean result of your calculation.