password login needs to only view their record info.

This topic is 8361 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I am somewhat new to Filemaker, but have some basic experience in Db's.

Here is what I am trying to accomplish:

I have a database that contains the records for individual users. I have assigned a group, and each user has a password in that group. Then I limit their access to a specific layout with certain fields not accessible. My problem is I want each user to have access to only their record. As it sits now, any user can access any other users info and change it.

Do I need to make each user a separate db file or is their a way to limit access to an individual record?

I really appreciate your help in advance.

Thanks

Don Andrzejczak

Dmacman

Following on from Keith... I'll bet you are using Instant web publishing, and you are using FMP's built-in access privileges and you've set up groups and passwords.

Beleive it or not, not many people here know about Instant publishing. Most people quickly realise that it's very limited and move over to custom publishing.

I have a feeling that Instant does not honour the Groups/Layouts you've set up -- a limitation of Instant Web Publishing, perhaps. In which case you too will have to start learning custom web publishing.

Sorry, I wasn't very specific in my message. To answer your question, yes, I am using instant web publishing over the web. I also set up a group with passwords assigned to each user and then access to only a specific layout and fields.

I've partially answered my own question. I see Filemaker 5.5 has record level security now. This should limit users acces to their own records.

I am very curious to "custom" web publishing, what is this and how to I learn more about it?

Thanks much,

Dmacman