Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help with general stuff.

fsterman

This topic is 7930 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Aghh, I did this once and it didn't post I'll try it again. I need some direction, I am new to FMP and am unsure on how to do things. I have the FMP Bible (the greatest series of computer books on earth) and have a handle on FMP, so really I don't need a step by step but an "ohh, use this..." type of answer. If I have questions I will come and ask. Okay I am making POS and Inventory software. I am having some issues with the inventory but I'm dealing with that in another post.

I need the POS software to do three things, one is that it contains a shopping list. When someone scans in a barcode or finads an item in the database I want the person to add that item to a list at the bottom of the screen. This list is a shopping list for the customer, it doesn't need to be permanent but it does need to add up the total cost with tax. I also need the list to keep a ACSII text of transactions. I also need to have variable sale prices, one for regular, one for employees, and one custom one so that the owner can give special deals. I want to select witch price from a radio button or drop down menu, but that is not an absolute.

Any help is much appreciated.

There is a couple of year's development time in what you describe. It's a huge task.

It's a pretty big question. What sort of answer did you want? Yes it can be done on FMP. FMP does not natively do transaction logging, that part's going to be tricky.

Is there no open source projects? How difficult would it be to use some other enviroments in conjunction with FMP (like Perl). So no suggestions on how to go about the shopping list? what about making and amending a text file? I have two things I want to use that for.