Can Filemaker 13 Pro build a full business enterprise business management system?

This topic is 633 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Greetings FM'ers:

First time poster here. I am an electronics engineer and not a DB programmer; however I have written several FM flat databases successfully in which I use successfully on a day to day basis. I love it. They do just what I need. My problem.. I have been using Quickbooks Premier for several years, and now they want to have me pay rent once a year at a very high cost. I am a small company.. plus it's the principle of the thing. They pretty much have monopolized that software industry. I REBEL!!  So after looking at several other packages which are not quite the same, I ran into a package popular in Europe called Dolibarr which is an SQL based free package installed locally on my PC. It is an enterprise system, but I don't have the skills to modify it to do what I would like i.e customized invoice they way I like, invoice modification, easy back up.

Next idea.. How about I write a customized DB enterprise software package that can work for me? I am sure many people have wrote these and may even be available ready to go, where I could even customize things the way I like. What do you folks think? Too complicated? Can FM do this nicely? Any advice appreciated.

Dynaman.

Edited by Dynaman
spelling

Best advise is not to re-invent a solved problem. 

QB Online is very robust and has countless years of hours in development and support. For Accounting it is your source of truth. If you need to interact push/pull data between FileMaker the most ideal method is to use the API either by writing the calls yourself or use an existing middleware software such as: 

https://www.ledgerlink.co or https://www.productivecomputing.com/products/quickbooks-online-filemaker-integration/