lookup

transit

This topic is 7912 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

This Is my first time so please be gentle !

I have a db for an autoparts catalogue were the prices of the parts are updated on a very reguler basis.

I have a db of invoices that uses the autopart id code for the relationship between the two db's

I have chosen not to use a portal to import the cost of the parts because as i understand when i change the part cost in the catalogue it would update the part costs in all the previous invoices, which of cause is not what i would want.

So i have used a lookup relationship to put the information from the catalogue into the invoices. to do this i have had to create a lot of separate relationships for each lookup of each part. This is a long process when the repair of a vehicle can easily use 20 to 30 parts.

So to the question.

Is there an easier way to do these lookups without having to create 20 to 30 relationships.

Many thanks in advance

You DO want to use a portal in your invoices BUT your portal will not be to the parts database directly, it will be to a new "line items" database.

Line items will be created whenever you enter a part number in the portal, and each line will in turn lookup the rest of the information from the parts database.

So when you create your new line items database, it will have invoice number (for the relationship with invoices), part number (for the relationship to parts), and then a bunch of lookup fields like Description, Cost, Price, Qty, etc.

In your Invoice you will make a portal to this database using the relationship based on invoice number, and be sure to "Allow creation of related records" in the relationships setup. This allows you to create line items by entering them in the portal.

You can then insert calculation fields in your invoices that calculate totals (for example: Sum(Line Items::Price) will sum up the price field of all related line items).