Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Looking for connectivity suggestions

This topic is 7400 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a system running 38 files and now want to be able to run it to another building about 50 meters apart. What is the best way to go about this? I will need a pretty reliable connection and speed (the application is up to 80MB and rising!), I have never done this before and am unsure of the best way to do it in FM.

All comments gratefully received,

Mark

Hi Mark,

If you can run a ethernet cable between the two buildings then that would be the fastest solution as far as networking speed is concerned. And maybe also the easiest and cheapest, but that of course depends a bit on what's between the two buildings...

The maximum length of one UTP ethernet cable is 100 meter, (using 10, 100 or 1000 base-T)

Otherwise I would go for a wireless connection. Assuming you have a network in both buildings you could have a wireless bridge connected to each network and situated so that there are not to much obstacles between the bridges.

There are several companies offering this kind of equipment like Lucent and Apple. (Apple have a wireless basestation called 'Airport Extreme' that has a maximum speed of 54 MBit /sec and with an antenna connector which might come in handy if you need to improve the range)

Filemaker uses the TCP protocol to do it's network business so that should not give any problems over a wireless network. BE sure to password protect all your databases though!

Best regards,

Ernst.

If you are using windows server in the first building and both buildings have internet access, then Windows Terminal Server can give you remote desktops to the users in the second building through the internet connection. I use this option for several employees that work from home and it works very well.

Charles