Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Password match fields not working

This topic is 7379 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I've been working on an online relational set of dbs using password fields to control who can edit records, and am having a devil of a time figuring out why it's not working. Here's a description of what I've done; maybe I'm approaching it all wrong, but in my mind and experience with FMP it seems like it SHOULD work. But this is my first attempt to use passwords in online forms and it doesn't seem to want to cooperate.

Here's the story. I have a small database for students which contains passwords they've entered, and another database for them to enter online journal writings. I have a relation set up between the two so that when a student creates a new journal record, they must enter a password, [password2] which is compared to the password [password1]in their student database record using a related field (Should it be a lookup instead?) . I have a field [passwordmatch] which calculates: If(password1 = password2, "true", "false"). Then, the format page has an If/Else form field. If [passwordmatch] = true (e.g., if the passwords match) they can access a text field for typing. If [passwordmatch] = false, the format page defaults to "Else" and a message that they've typed an incorrect password.

Everything works correctly, EXCEPT no matter what the two passwords say, the [passwordmatch] field always returns "False" even if the passwords match. So the reply on the format page is always "Sorry. incorrect password."

Everything works great if I make [passwordmatch] a calc field that simply says "true" (which, of course, makes the password concept irrelevant), so the glitch seems to be in the way the password from the related db is passed to the journal db for verification. Or is it?

I'm stumped. Any help is appreciated, especially if you have a better way to handle passwords in general.