Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Access Developer seeks FM advice - Script triggers

This topic is 7386 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hi, I'm new to FM and this site so I hope I'm posting in the correct place. I've been using Access some years so I am having difficulty in understanding how to automate FM, as I keep thinking of the Access way. I wish to create a database for storing details of 35mm slides. Each record has a field that holds the page position that the slide is stored in, value 1-20. I wish to have this record auto update, the value being set to 1 more than the previous entry in the database. If the value is greater than 21 then reset to 1 and so on. The simple way to achieve this is to store the value of the previous record in the present record and use a calculated field to set the value. However, this is ugly as I'm using a field unnecessarily - there has to be a better way. I have a script that sets the value based on the previous record. My question is how do I trigger the script? In access there are many events that may start a script in FM I may create a button to add a new record and run my script which is fine until a user decides to bypass it and use a keyboard short cut (cmd+new).

Q1- Is there a better way of doing the above?

Q2- Is it possible to disable the FM menu and keyboard short cuts or intercept them as trigger events for scripts?

Thanks in advance

Simon

You can create a number field (named keyP for primary key) and in the field definition options set it to auto-enter serial numbers. Then create a second number field (named frame) which is also set to auto-enter, but this one will auto-enter a "calculated value". Specify the calculation to be "Mod(keyP, 20) + 1". Each time a new record is created, the next frame will be 1 greater than the last, until it reaches 20, at which point it will start incrementing again at 1.