Help a newbie understand relationships

kirsh

This topic is 7311 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I'm new to databases. I've modified the given "contacts" file just a little. Now in another db I'd like to be able to view (not lookup) the info from contact by entering one of the fields (most likely last name or phone #) and having all of the info brought into view in the new records.

I began trying to set-up a relationship but it seemed to not be correct. No doubt this is not a new question but I was unable to find an overview or sample step-by-step as I browsed.

Thanks for any help

Kirsh

FileMaker Version: 6

Platform: Mac OS X Panther

The best place to start would probably be the tutorial in the Getting Started Guide. This should be a pdf in your Filemaker Application/Electronic Documentation folder. There should also be a Filemaker Tutorial Folder with example files. The chapter on relationships is Lesson 10

Hi and welcome to FMForums.

You said you don't want a lookup but then you asked for this contact "ID card" to be shown for new records. So I'm a bit confused.

It seems what you want is a way to view a contact info without moving to the contacts file.

If so, what you could do is add a global field in your file, and build a relationship from this global to the Contact ID in the Contacts file.

Then you could drop related fields from this relationship on the layout.

You just need to find a way to enter this ID in that global field.

Tell us a bit more.

Platform: Mac OS 9

• Newbies

Let me try to explain a bit. I reviewed the tutrials etc yet still must be missing something in setting up relationships for the first time.

In my master file, I'd like to enter a last name for instance and have the remaining fields in the record fill-in the corresponding data from a related file (in this case called contacts). I believe I've determined since there is only 1 related file I do not need a portal.