Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Filemaker newbie- needs help

This topic is 8151 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all. Please pardon my ingnorance, but I'm brand new to filemaker. Here is my situation:

I'm a physician and I bought filemaker to help me organize my patient data. My intentions are to place all relevant data in one place, and to be able to send certain pieces of information to my patients via mail (ie, summary letters from recent annual exams displaying lab results, etc, information documents with data pertaining to individual health risks, etc). So far, I have set up a basic database which includes various layouts- a general "input data" layout where name, address, vitals, lab results, etc are stored, and a few different "letters" layouts which allow me to print out letters containing patient specific information in a general format. So far so good.

I have a basic script written to print letters by performing a find for the "date of exam". This script allows me to find all patients who have had an annual exam for a set time period, usually one week, and to print an "annual review letter" for each of those patients. A couple of problems: I've been trying to figure out how I can track who I've sent letters to automatically, and to not let those who have gotten letters show up in the find again. Typically I'll print letters once a week, but some of the necessary lab results aren't back within a week for some patients. So I omit those from the list. But when I go back to print the left over letters from that particular week, all of the patients show up again. How can I sort those that have been already been sent from those that need sending for the same time period?