Claris Engage 2025 - March 25-26 Austin Texas ×

New to scripting

This topic is 7285 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I am new to Filemaker. I am the executive assistant in this Company and we use Filemaker as our database.

There are several things I know you can do with Filemaker but I dont' know how to do it.

1. I want to link a scanned PDF file to a button.

2. I want to set it up to do email blasts to clients

3. I want to create a layout that will become our billing side (long and detailed need lots of help with this) it will include being able to print invoices, Envelopes and link to a master billing spreadsheet

4. I want to link our most comonnly used letters to our layout and enable us to print envelopes as well.

any help would be great

Thanks

Billing/accounting is a fairly advanced project. Have a look at some of the templates and commercial solutions that are out there. There may even be one for your specific type of business. I would consider hiring a developer for this part of your solution.

What version of FileMaker are you using?

Printing letters and envelopes is not too hard, there is a wizard that guides you through creating a new layout.

Linking files has improved in FileMaker 7, but in version 6 you may need to use a plugin such as Troi File, or use some kind of OS scripting.

Are you on Mac or PC?

For email, FileMaker is OK, but for mass email you'll want a plugin such as SMTPit.

If you are using FM 7, I'd start with a free download of Business Tracker.

Taking on an order/invoice systems shouldn't be the first (or 10th) project for a FM novice. If you just want to learn FM, it's as good of a challenge as any. If you are really trying to produce a usable product for your company in some time frame, hire a consultant. The probablity of producing a good product of such a complexity on your first try is pretty much zero.

Let us know what version you are using and on which platform.

-bd