Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Displaying customized name in a field

This topic is 7029 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

Hello,

I'm a bit new to FileMaker and I've come to a situation where I have a Name field for entering a person's full name. However, if in case there is a name too long, FM seems to cut it off when viewing that field in browse mode. However once you click inside the Name field you see the whole name.

My main question is, how can I have my database take a full name and perhaps display it in the name field as (first initial of first name and then full last name?). For example take a long name like Richard Blahblahblahman and have it displayed as R. Blahblahblahman.

Thanks for any help!

This can be accomplished with a short tidy calculation.

Create a calculation field to be used for display purposes on your layout. You will not be able to enter data in this field, so if your input field must reside on the same layout as this display field, make sure the display calculation field is locked and covers the top of the input field.

If you want to just display all names in an abbreviated manner simply use this calculation example:

(Assuming your field name is called "fullname")

left(leftwords(fullname,1),1) & ". " & middle(fullname , length(leftwords(fullname,1) + 2), length(fullname))

The above calculation simply grabs the first character of the first word and adds a "." and a space after it. It then displays the remainder of the name field by determining the starting character number of the next word in the fullname field and displays the name starting from that character number through to the last character number.