Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Date range and data look-up

This topic is 6874 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello all,

I am very new to filemaker and am enjoying struggling through my problems with the aid of forums and, I might add, a lot of luck, but I fear that I have come to a wall and am banging my head against it and am therefore looking for help.

I have a number of related databases in my design with the main one including three field - Arrival date, departure date and total price. I have another db which includes the price relative to a specific date range. For example 1/5/05 to 01/06/05 = 230

The answer depends on how you want to deal with price changes occuring during the stay period.

If a guest is unaffected by price changing during his/hers stay, then it's not too complex - you simply lookup the price based on the arrival date. The PriceList table has a FromDate and ListPrice. The relationship from Invoice/InvoiceLineItem is ArrivalDate = FromDate. The Price field is defined as lookup of ListPrice, if no match - lookup next lower.

If you want to split the staying period into separate price ranges - that's another story.

Thanks for your response. The price changing during his/her stay will not come into things at all.

I have got a price list table which incorporates a From and To date and a price field. Overall there are five date ranges and three price brackets. The price ranges reflect low season, mid season, high season, mid season again and finally low season again. Therefore the prices reflect low, mid and high season.

What I do not understand is how I can tell filemaker that should the arrival date fall within one of these season date ranges, then it should select the relevant price. I'm not sure if I've understood that what you are saying resolves my problem?

I truely hope you can help.

Thanks,

Iain.