Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Help with team stats database

DG2005

This topic is 6717 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi: I find I am over my head with a database that I've promised our baseball league.

If this sort of question is not allowed, or is something I should be paying for, please let me know.

I've been keeping the ball league stats for 15 years now and have some simple relationships, but we have only ever kept the stats for individual years. I know this will be child's play for most of you, but I can't seem to wrap my brain around how to structure this database and then how to show the results that we want.

We have 27 teams, each with at least 20 players each year, for 15 years, so many different players. Each player has statistics typical of a ball team or any major league team (we're just a beer league, but many want to see their statistics over a long period of time to see how they're doing as they get older. I'm a pitcher, so I know intitively that I'm just getting slower!). All the data is in excel spreadsheets.

How would I go about setting the relationships for something like this. It's the multiple year aspect and players playing on different teams that has me stumped. The league does have a small budget if this is something that should be paid for, but then I don't know what this sort of thing would be worth. A couple hundred dollars? I think if I have a structure, I can play with the rest. Hope someone can help.

Thanks!

Welcome DG2005,

Structurally, the entities in your database would look something like what's shown in this ER diagram (Note that an ER Diagram is not the same as the Table Occurance Graph in FM8.) Each Team has a Team-Year record for each season. This is so that you can remember the team's players for each year as being separate groups. Each Team-Year has many Games that they play in, and each Game has one Team-Year as the Home Team and one Team-Year as the Visitor Team.