Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Windows Remote Desktop

mr_vodka

This topic is 6687 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi.

Let me start off by saying that I have never tried doing this. So, basically I am a total noob with regards to trying to access a machine remotely.

I am piggybacking off this post and other past posts.

I am not trying to allow users to connect to FileMaker remotely. What I am trying to do is just get into a client's machine so that when there is an issue, I can remotely take over and troubleshoot.

I am still unsure how to do this. I went through past posts and also tutorials from Microsoft and also this site.

I did everything they asked but I still couldnt find the computer.

The Setup at the client's office is very simple and basic. Its a very small office so nothing huge.

Cable Modem, Router, computers.

I know nothing about Windows Remote Desktop. One thing I was thinking was that I might need a dedicated IP address for the box that I am trying to get to. Is this true? From those tutorials, it seems as though you can just try to find it by computer name.

Any suggestions from those of you who have used Windows Remote Desktop?

hi,

it's not very difficult to setup remote desktop, that microsoft step by step seems to cover it.

but, as an alternative you may want to look at netmeeting, which requires less configuration.

it is also a microsoft product, and is installed on newer windows operating systems by default.

HTH,

jd.

There's alot of ways you can do remote support. One way is to build a VPN server and VPN to your office network . Then install VNC server on the each client desktop and you use VNC viewer to connect to the desktop. Second way ( if it's only 1 computer ) you can forward port for the VNC from your router to the desktop. There are also other few ways to do it and it depends how you want it.

Btw this is a windows issue not a Filemaker issue.

Hi Jane,