Server Maintenance This Week. ×

New to Tabs

This topic is 6687 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

I am a new FMP user, and this is my first time trying to make Tabs. It was able to create a Tab icon in Layout, but have not been able to add fields to it. When I try to insert fields, they just sit there ON TOP of the tab, instead of creating a new panel. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Alisun

Hi Alisun,

I am not 100% sure what exactly your issue is but if you are looking to create more 'tabs' then in layout mode, you can double click the whole tab itself and then you can create a new tab name.

You can then drag whatever fields you want for each tab onto the appropriate 'tab layout'.

Hope this was the answer you were looking for. If not try to describe your issue to us in more detail.

I'll better explain why I need a Tab: I am working on a healthcare database, and there is one record per person. Some of the fields apply to everyone (first name, last name, date of visit, etc). However, there is also a set of fields that will NOT apply to everyone (recurring treatments, response from treatments, hospitalization, etc). For the fields that will not apply to everyone, I want to create a Tab called "Recurrences".

In Excel there are "Sheet" tabs at the bottom of the screen. I want to create the equivalent of a "Sheet" in FMP.

I'm a beginner, so any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Alisun

I am still unclear on what the issue it though.

Are you having problems creating the tab control itself? or are you having troubles adding more tabs to the tab control interface? or are you having problem adding fields to a tab layout?

As I said earlier, if you are trying to create another I guess tab panel, you need to double click the tab control and then add a new tab name.

If you go to the help section in FileMaker, and type with the quotes