Server Maintenance This Week. ×

& calculation in records

This topic is 6582 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

hello,

last post seems to have disappeared.

newbie here

i am trying to set up a column which has % calculation in it but problem is i want different % values in each record currently i get same value in all records.

i have set this in data base define as f3*.12 which gives me 12% but as i said i want differing values per record obviously im doing this wrong

jacky

I had merged your duplicate posts (which are poor etiquette) into a single thread in the appropriate forum, but for some reason, all evidence of it vanished. Sorry about that.

Anyway, check that f3 and/or the calculation field is not set as a global in the Storage options for the field.

hello.

global storage is cleared

i have set up like this column scrap(F3)

records abc want this to read 10% of qty in F4

records def " " " " 5 % of qty in f5

records ghi " " " " 15% of qty in f6

hope this helps

Sorry, but I am not understanding what you are saying. Perhaps you could zip and attach a sample of the file with a few notes to clarify which field should do what.

Try using another field to contain the desired percentage for each record and a calculation field to determine which field should be multiplied by the percentage in the given record. I have no idea what your criteria would be or else I would provide a sample Case( ) statement.

hi,

the criteria is that each record would display a % of the incoming total(f3)in the F7 column

That % would need to be set in each individual record ie.1st record perhaps 5%

next at say 8% of incoming F3...IF IT WAS 100 in F3 then 8 in f7 column

Sorry to be a nuisance on this but it is driving me up the wall

jacky