GetNthRecord help

This topic is 6517 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi all,

First, I'm mostly a lurker, but I come here and very often find others' posts that I can glean helpful hints from. Thanks everyone who partipates here.

Here's my problem for today:

I am currently using a calc (with several repetitions defined) as follows:

GetNthRecord (Extend(table::field); Get ( CalculationRepetitionNumber ) )

and it's working beautifully to turn records (rows) into column headings. But, the clincher is that I need it to be conditional. In other words, I only want to pickup the "nth" record if (and only if) a certain status field is equal to "Y". If the status is not equal to "Y", skip that record (don't make a column out of that data) and move on to give me the next record as my next column head to the right.

I am thinking that something recursive might be necessary here, but I'm afraid that's something I'm not very good at.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kate

I'm not sure I understand exactly what you want so maybe you can take a look at this example and tell if you need it to work differently. Basically, it uses a recursive custom function to look at all the records in the found set but only gather the field value from the records that have a "Y" on them. Let me know what should be different and I'll see if I can help.

GetNth.fp7.zip

Thanks so much John Mark, for such a quick reply! Here's a bit more detail: