Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Developing in-house!

This topic is 6517 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hi there.

I have been working as a custom developer for the past year and have just taken a position as an in-house developer for a small top medium sized company.

I just wanted to get some views and advice from anyone else out there that has or is working in-house on the best practise for developing an in-house system. Is it best to have a testing system running parallel to the live system? Or is working on the live system the best option?

Any other words of wisdom would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Orlando

I have been an in-house developer for 7 years.

There are pros and cons on working on live systems, so you need to balance your decisions to suit the needs at the time. I have mixed live a parallel developmenmt during my time, more parallel in the early days as the changes I made were pretty significant, but more often now I do live development.

I am slighlty hampered by being on FMP 6/FMS 5.5 as this precludes making field definitions whilst others are using the files, although I test these on a parallel first then implement when uses are at lunch, or sometimes on my VPN link during evening.

Most of my system is SCRIPTED and I do not use FIELD LEVEL VALIDATION which permits me to make functional changes without interruption to services.

I'm sure many would call me foolish for doing live developments, however that is what is needed, but always with a backup before doing something major.

For the record my DBs now total over 60 with 700MB+ of data (no pictures!), 30+ users, mixed platform and 5 years historical records.

Good luck.