need suggestions- links to screenshots in text

This topic is 6526 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

I have a database for a procedures handbook...there is a text field that will hold the text of documents, but cannot hold the pictures that would normally be included.

The owner would like it so that somehow there would be placeholder links or something that when a reader is reading the document, could click to see the screenshots that would normally be there. He doesn't want to have to export files to open up the document. Maybe even a list of the screenshot files on the side...that could be opened up when the person got to a certain point in the file that they needed to see a certain picture.

And how should I handle this in FileMaker? I'm new to it...should it be imported into a pictures field or separate table...or...?

I can't think of a good way to do this...wondering if anyone could help out with any suggestion at all.

Sorry if this is confusing.

Thanks.

Confusing is fun... i think.

Now here's your issue, FileMaker wasn't exactly made for this sort of application, however there are one or two things i could think of maybe trying, is this required for basically on screen viewing --> soft copy browsing or printing or both? If printing, you could most likely use a report with optional related records, with browsing, well, it gets a bit harder there.

Anyway, give us a bit more of an overview regarding that.