Server Maintenance This Week. ×

Keeping formatted text while pasting in FileMaker

This topic is 6316 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Hello,

My first post, yipee.

I would first like to say what a great community and its an honor to be here.

I am a Newbie with File Maker, so please go easy on me.

My question is: How do I retain formatted text copied from a word document or websites when pasting it into a text field of FileMaker.

Thanks

There are two ways to retain the format of text being pasted from the clipboard. A keyboard combination (on the Ma it is Cmd + Option + v). or using the script step as explained in the online help (availabel with FileMaker open). Search for [color:blue]Paste script step.

HTH

Lee

There are two ways to retain the format of text being pasted from the clipboard. A keyboard combination (on the Ma it is Cmd + Option + v). or using the script step as explained in the online help (availabel with FileMaker open). Search for [color:blue]Paste script step.

HTH

Lee

Just double checking, Cmd + Option + v is for Mac right?

I am not familiar with FileMaker open, can you explain that?

Thanks and Merry Christmas

From the Online Help when FileMaker is open. On the Home Page, towards the bottome of the pag >> Keyboard commands (Windows) on the next page >> Paste, select, and replace keyboard commands (Windows)

Ctrl+Shift+V

HTH

Lee

I tried using Ctrl+Shift+V, seems like pasting without formatting.

Also, I tried using Paste Script without checking the "Paste without style" rest is checked, no luck. Just pasting without the original format.

I have tried both sources from website and Microsoft word document with bold, italics and different font and size, no luck.

Maybe I am doing something wrong??

I think you are looking at this backwards.

If you want to keep the clipboard formatting, you only need to paste it with Ctrl+V, if your want to remove the clipboard styles, then you need to use Ctrl+Shift+V