Does Filemaker handle Relative Fields?

This topic is 6302 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am trying to switch from Excel to Filemaker. For most static databases, it is going well. But one VERY simple Excel database is giving me trouble. I need to perform a calculation based upon a previous record. In this database, the first record is "Beginning_Balance", and the last record is "End_Balance". So for record #2, its value for "Beginning_Balance" will be the value of "End_Balance" from record #1. In Excel, this is very easy, due to the use of relative field reference. But I cannot seem to find the equivalent in Filemaker. I am very new to Filemaker...so it may just be called something different...but after scouring the "help" files, I just can't find it. Any help would be vastly appreciated.

Many Thanks,

--Louis

Since you're on fm7 and not fm8+ could it be done this way:

http://www.filemakerpros.com/LULAST.zip

But although it gives you a solution, should you consider if the reasoning in pulling a database app. out of it's realm is justified. Be carefull not to rub prejudice into a tool you're newbe to, you need to explain why you have thrown your love on a database tool?

--sd

Hi

it seems a very easy task for FM7, using a variable to store the End_Balance before to create a new record.

So all you need is a script to make a new record with these steps:

Set variable[$storeEB = YourDB::End_Balance]

New record/request

Set field [YourDB::Beginning_Balance ; $storeEB]

Daniele, when was $variables introduced??? With fm8 in my humble opinion! The way we dealt with it back then, was to make the script recurse, to avoid buttons with the scriptparamter tied to it ...look above!

--sd

Billede_1.jpg

• Newbies