Server Maintenance This Week. ×

I messed up my relationships

Chris Echols

This topic is 6278 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

Being a newbie, I always start databases with templates and work my way up. I started using a contact database for something I'm doing on the side, but then figured out that I needed to use the P.O. template to make a quick invoice for services rendered. Then of course I thought about all of the other things I needed to track. (I didn't plan it out.)

Luckily, I don't have a lot of records in this database, so I can afford to start over with a plan, but I'm stuck on step one - the ERD.

I have contacts and there are many contacts at different churches or venues. I perform observations at the different venues, but then I ran into one church that has 2 venues. If I have to do an invoice or P.O. for the church I'll need to keep track of services rendered and equipment suggested. Now I want an equipment table to be related to both the invoices or course, but also to the observations (where I make a list of all the equipment that I observed and/or tested).

I know I'm probably wanting to do a whole lot with this database, but that's why I have filemaker, so that I can... See the attached pic and let me know where I'm messing up.

Picture_1.jpg

You haven't really said what's messed up. If you want to have multiple relationships to various tables, use multiple TOs (table occurrences).

I'd suggest coloring the TOs so that all TOs of the same table are colored the same. This makes it easier to see what the underlying tables are.

Also, turn on the auto-enter serial numbers for your tables' primary keys. This will turn your relationship lines into one-to-manys, making it easy to see what the parent-child relationships are.