Semantic confusion

WarrenK

This topic is 6258 days old. Please don't post here. Open a new topic instead.

• Newbies

I am new to Filemaker. I am working with an old version 6 before deciding whether to upgrade. I am trying to build a very simple application in which I scroll the contents of a table as a pick list, and insert a field from the selected record as a value in a new record in a separate table.

I am having difficulty wrapping my head around how to implement this in FM. I think I understand that lookups (which is the term I would use for what I am trying to do) is reserved for use with hard-coded selection variables. My reading of the manuals leads me to believe that what I want to do will be via a portal. However, I haven't found a good example of how this is done. Also, I am not clear on whether scripting is required to achieve this result.

I have tried to download some examples onto my 10.4 Mac but they bomb out on me, plus they are for later versions of FM than I have.

Will appreciate any tips, links, etc.

Thanks!

Warren

• 2 weeks later...
  • Newbies

Closer to what I want. What I want is for the portal in a.fp5 to reflect the contents of the b.fp5 file. And when I click on the selected record of b. (shown in a.) a field from that b. record populates a corresponding field in the current a. record.

Ideally, it would display the record and give the user the ability to save the new record at that time or else select a new b. value from the portal.

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks for your help!

Warren

Information in the Portal about the Related Record shouldn't need to be prompted to show current information. If you are talking about other information that is not in the Portal, then read about the [color:blue]Go To Related Record script step.

If you mean something else, then you need to elaborate on what you have now, and what you want to achieve.

HTH

Lee

• Newbies